“Blood On The Dance Floor” (1997)


Recording sessions : January-March 1997

Studios : Montreux (Switzerland), Los Angeles

Label : Sony Music

Release date : May 20, 1997

Peak on Billboard 200 : 24

Original track listing

1. “Blood on the Dance Floor” Michael Jackson, Teddy Riley 4:13
2. “Morphine” Michael Jackson 6:29
3. “Superfly Sister” Michael Jackson, Bryan Loren 6:28
4. “Ghosts” Michael Jackson, Teddy Riley 5:14
5. “Is It Scary” Michael Jackson, James Harris III, Terry Lewis 5:36
6. “Scream Louder (Flyte Tyme Remix)” (duet with Janet Jackson) James Harris III, Terry Lewis, Michael Jackson, Janet Jackson 5:27
7. “Money (Fire Island Radio Edit)” Michael Jackson 4:23
8. “2 Bad (Refugee Camp Mix)” (featuring John Forté) Michael Jackson, Bruce Swedien, René Moore, Dallas Austin 3:33
9. “Stranger in Moscow (Tee’s In-House Club Mix)” Michael Jackson 6:54
10. “This Time Around (D.M. Radio Mix)” Michael Jackson, Dallas Austin 4:05
11. “Earth Song (Hani’s Club Experience)” Michael Jackson 7:55
12. “You Are Not Alone (Classic Club Mix)” R. Kelly 7:37
13. “HIStory (Tony Moran’s HIStory Lesson)” Michael Jackson, James Harris III, Terry Lewis 8:01

“Morphine” is also titled “Just Say No” on some licensed editions of the album.
Both “Is It Scary” and “Ghosts” share certain lyrics.

The LP version replaces “This Time Around (D.M. Radio Mix)” and “You Are Not Alone (Classic Club Mix)” with “This Time Around (D.M. Mad Club Mix)” (the version on the LP is different from the mix of the same title on the single release of the song) and “You Are Not Alone (Classic Club Edit)”, respectively.


*Worked by MJ during his lifetime. Covers and remixes by other artists are not included.

Ghosts (1996 mix) : First version of the song used in the closing credits of the “Ghosts” short film in 1996. Different bassline and different sound effects from the 1997 version. Remains unreleased.



Elizabeth I Love You :  Recorded in January 1997 & used in February 1997 for a TV Show celebrating Elizabeth Taylor’s 65th birthday. A snippet from the studio version leaked in 2010. The full studio version remains unreleased.

Blood On The Dance Floor : Singles and Videos (1997)


History World Tour 1996-1997

Previous era : History (1995)

Following era : Invincible (2001)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s