“Dream Street” era (1984)

Dream Street

Recording sessions : June-September 1984

Studios : Soundcastle and Can-Am Studios, Los Angeles and American Artists Studios, Minneapolis; mixed at Sunset Sound and Capitol Studios, Los Angeles

Label : A&M Records

Release date : October 23, 1984

Original track listing

“Don’t Stand Another Chance”
“Two to the Power of Love”
“Pretty Boy”
“Dream Street”
“Fast Girls”
“Hold Back the Tears”
“All My Love to You”
“If It Takes All Night”

Peak on Billboard 200 : 147

Demos/Alternate Versions/Outtakes/unreleased tracks from the album’ sessions

“Start Anew” :  Song recorded for “Dream Street’ and released as an off-album single in Japan on October 11, 1985, with the B-sides “Hold Back the Tears”.

Others songs from this era 

Singles and short films

1st single “Don’t Stand Another Chance” (released on August 13, 1984)

Peak on Hot 100 Billboard : did not chart

No short film

2nd single “Two to the Power of Love” (released on September 15, 1984)

Peak on Hot 100 Billboard : did not chart

No short film

3rd single “Fast Girls” (released on October 23, 1984)

Peak on Hot 100 Billboard : did not chart

No short film

4th single : Dream Street” (released on November 20, 1984) 

Short film directed by : Debbie Allen

Date of shooting : spring 1985

Date of premiere : May 25, 1985 during Fame’s season 4 finale.

Official release : never.

Promotion (TV performances/Award Shows/magazine covers etc.)

January 11, 1984 : At the first annual Black Gold Awards, produced by Dick Clark, Janet is presented with the hottest female newcomer of the year award at the Black Gold Awards in Los Angeles (with a video congratulations from Michael).

January 16, 1984 : Michael, Janet & LaToya attend the American Music Awards at the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles with Brooke Schields and Emmanuel Lewis.

February 7, 1984 : Michael goes to the New York Metropolitan Museum of Natural History to receive awards from CBS & The Guineess Book Of World Records to celebrates Thriller as the largest-selling album of all time (25 millions at the time) Among the many guest are Michael’s date for the evening Brooke Schields, & the whole Jackson family (including LaToya, Rebbie & Janet).

February 26, 1984 : Katherine, LaToya, Janet & Michael attend the premiere of Pepsi’s Jacksons commercial at a black-tie event for 1000 bottlers at New York City ’s Lincoln Center.

Janet appears in Diff’rent Strokes episode titled “The Wedding Part 2”

February 28, 1984 : In the company of Brooke Schields & Emmanuel Lewis, Michael attends the Grammy Awards ceremony broadcast live from the Shrine Auditorium of Los Angeles. He wins an unprecedented 8 awards. On stage he shares his triumph with producer Quincy Jones and invites Janet, LaToya & Rebbie to joins him.

May 4, 1984 : Janet appears in Diff’rent Strokes episode titled “The Houseguest”.

May 28 , 1984 : Janet & LaToya appear on the cover of Jet magazine.

July 23, 1984 : Janet appears on the cover of Jet Magazine.

August 31, 1984 : Janet performs Don’t Stand Another Chance on Much More Music in Toronto, Canada.

September 15, 1984 : In Los Angeles, Janet performs her new single “Don’t Stand Another Chance” + “Dream Street”  on American Bandstand.

September 29 , 1984: Season 4 premiere of “Fame” featuring Janet is aired on NBC.In the first episode Janet/Cleo performs  her new single “Two To The Power Of Love” with Jesse Borrego taking Cliff Richard’s place.

October 23, 1984 : Janet gives an interview on the Bryant Gumbel show.

October 27, 1984 :  In Fame new episode “The Heart Of Rock N Roll”, Janet/Cleo performs “Don’t Stand Another Chance”.

January 1985 : Janet presents an award with sister Rebbie at the Black Gold Awards at the Cocoanut Grove, Ambassador Hotel in Los Angeles.

January 26, 1985 : In Fame’s new episode “The Heart Of Rock N Roll II”, Janet/Cleo performs a rendition of Jackson 5 hit “I Want You Back”.

January 28, 1985 : Janet attends the American Music Awards with James & LaToya. She and LaToya presents an award to Kenny Rogers. Rebbie also attends and she presents an award.

February 2, 1985 : Janet is a guest star on a two part episode of  ABS series “Love Boat”. She plays the character Della. The episodes were shot on location in Scandinavia & Russia.

March 28, 1985 : Janet attends the premiere of “The Last Dragon” with James

May 25, 1985 : In Fame’s season 4th finale, Janet/Cleo performs “Dream Street”. This is Janet first ever promotional music video and also her last appearance on the show.

August 1985 : Janet is on the cover of Essence magazine.

Janet & Latoya make a photoshoot together at Hayvenhurst.

October 27, 1985 : Janet supports LaToya by performing background vocals on her song “Baby Sister” during a live performance at the 16th annual World Popular Song Festival in Tokyo, Japan. “Baby Sister is the 1st single from LaToya’s ‘s 4th studio album “Imagination” released in 1986.

Previous Era : « Janet Jackson »  (1982)

Next era : « Control » (1986)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s